Hartford Seminary

Faculty Areas of Expertise

Core Faculty

Najib Awad nawad@hartsem.edu (860) 987-8048
Associate Professor of Christian Theology
Director, International Ph.D. Program
Areas of Study
Systematic Theology
Doctrine of the Trinity
Theology of Religions
Contextual Theology
Arabic Christianity and Christian-Muslim Relations.
Oriental/Arab Christianity

David D. Grafton dgrafton@hartsem.edu (860) 509-9538
Professor of Islamic Studies and Christian-Muslim Relations
Areas of Study
Christian-Muslim relationships
History of Christianity in the Middle East
American Christian perspectives on religion and society in the Middle East
19th and 20th Protestant missionary thought on Islam

Deena Grant dgrant@hartsem.edu
Associate Professor of Jewish Studies
Areas of Study
Hebrew Bible
Israelite Religion
Anthropomorphism
Jewish Interpretive Traditions

Heidi Hadsell hadsell@hartsem.edu (860) 509-9502
President
Professor of Social Ethics
Areas of Study
Social ethics in a global context
Social/ethical dimensions of ecology
Ethics and Interfaith Relations
Christian understandings of economic and political issues

Seyfeddin Kara skara@hartsem.edu
Assistant Professor of Shi’i Studies and Relations between Islamic Schools of Thought
Areas of Study
Shiʿi studies
Quranic studies
Hadith studies
Sunni-Shiʿi relations
Early history of Islam
Islamic legal theory
Islam and politics
Islam and human rights
Islamophobia studies

Yahya Michot ymichot@hartsem.edu (860) 509-9530
Professor of Islamic Thought and Christian-Muslim Relations
Co-Editor of The Muslim World journal
Areas of Study
Islamic classical thought and history
Islamic societies

Feryal Salem fsalem@hartsem.edu (860) 509-9531
Assistant Professor of Islamic Scriptures and Law
Co-Director, Islamic Chaplaincy Program
Associate Editor, The Muslim World
Islamic thought with an emphasis on the foundations of Islamic scripture,
hadith methodology, Sufism, and hermeneutics in classical Islamic texts.

Shanell T. Smith ssmith@hartsem.edu (860) 509-9575
Assistant Professor of New Testament and Christian Origins
Director, Cooperative Master of Divinity Program
Areas of Study
Feminist and Womanist Biblical Interpretation
Gender and Sexuality in the New Testament
Intersections of Postcolonial, African American, and New Testament Studies
Revelation

Scott Thumma sthumma@hartsem.edu (860) 509-9571
Academic Dean
Professor of Sociology of Religion
Director, D.Min. Program
Director, Hartford Institute for Religion Research
Areas of Study
Megachurch characteristics and dynamics
The increase in nondenominational churches
The impact of the Internet on congregational dynamics
Congregational studies of healthy growth and member engagement
Congregational/Denominational trends of Religion in America

Timur Yuskaev yuskaev@hartsem.edu (860) 509-9554
Associate Professor of Contemporary Islam
Holder of the Islamic Chaplaincy Faculty Chair
Director, Imam and Muslim Community Leadership Program
Co-Director, Islamic Chaplaincy Program
Co-Editor of The Muslim World journal
Areas of Study
Contemporary Islam
American Muslim Communities
Qur’anic Studies

Faculty Associates

Mahmoud Ayoub mayoub@hartsem.edu (860) 509-9537
Faculty Associate in Islam and Christian-Muslim Relations
Areas of Study
Shi’ite Islam
Comparative religions
Interfaith dialogue
Christian-Muslim relations

Steven Blackburn sblackburn@hartsem.edu (860) 509-9560
Faculty Associate in Semitic Scriptures
Curator of the Library’s Arabic Collection
Areas of Study
Arabic (Classical and Standard)
Semitic Scriptures
Information Literacy

Brian Clark bclark@hartsem.edu
Faculty Associate in World Christianity
Director of Online Learning
Areas of Study
Modern World Christianity
History of Mission
Transatlantic Methodism
Early Evangelicalism
Women in Popular Protestantism
The Design of Instruction
Instruction of Adult Learners

Adair Lummis alummis@hartsem.edu (860) 509-9547
Faculty Associate in Research
Areas of Study
Clergy concerns
Gender, spirituality and leadership in faith communities
Denominational policies

Lucinda Mosher lmosher@hartsem.edu (646) 335 2951
Faculty Associate in Interfaith Studies
Director, Multifaith Chaplaincy Program
Areas of Study
America’s Religious Diversity
Theology: Christian and Comparative
Christian-Muslim Relations
Jewish-Christian-Muslim Relations

Michael Piazza mpiazza@hartsem.edu
Faculty Associate in Congregational Renewal
Areas of Study
Congregational Renewal
Preaching and Worship
Stewardship and Development
Leadership Development
Turn around congregations
Social Justice and Activism
LGBTQ Studies

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Donna Schaper donnaschaper@judson.org

Faculty Associate in Religious Leadership

Areas of Study

Leadership Development

Turn around congregations

Start-up Congregations

New Church Starts

Fund and Energy Raising

Pastoral Theology

Public Ministry

Parish Ministry Administration

 

Benjamin Watts bwatts@hartsem.edu (860) 509-9514

Faculty Associate in Religion and Community Life

Director of the Black Ministries Program

Areas of Study

Arts of Ministry

Homiletics

Spirituality

 

Miriam Therese Winter mtwinter@hartsem.edu (860) 509-9558

Faculty Associate in Transformative Leadership and Spirituality

Director, Master of Arts in Transformative Leadership and Spirituality

Director of the Women’s Leadership Institute

Areas of Study

Liturgy, Worship, Spirituality and Feminist Studies

Join our mailing list!

Keep up with all the latest happenings at Hartford Seminary

Sign-up now ›