2019-2020 Academic Calendar | Hartford Seminary

2019-2020 Academic Calendar

Fall 2019

August 12 Monday Eid Al-Adha – SEMINARY CLOSED
August 13 Tuesday Last day to register for Fall 2019 without penalty
August 29 Thursday M.A. and G.C. New Student Orientation
August 29 Thursday Convocation
September 2 Monday Labor Day – SEMINARY CLOSED
September 3 Tuesday Fall semester begins/First day of classes
September 6 Friday Residential Student Orientation
September 15-16 Sun-Mon D.Min. Retreat
September 23 Monday Last day to drop a class without academic or financial penalty
Sept.-Oct. 29-1 Sun-Tue Rosh Hashanah
September 30 Monday Rosh Hashanah observed – SEMINARY CLOSED
October 7-8 Mon-Tue D.Min. Days
October 8 Tuesday Yom Kippur – Early Dismissal – SEMINARY CLOSES at 6 PM
October 9 Wednesday Yom Kippur – SEMINARY CLOSED
October 13-20 Sun-Sun Sukkot
October 21 Monday Last day to withdraw from a course without academic penalty
October 28 Monday Registration for January Intersession and Spring 2020 begins
October 28-29 Mon-Tue D.Min. Days
November 18-19 Mon-Tue D.Min. Days
November 25-27 Mon-Wed Reading Days (No Classes)
Nov. 28- Dec. 1 Thur-Sun Thanksgiving Break – SEMINARY CLOSED
December 9-10 Mon-Tue D.Min. Days
December 16 Monday Last day of weekly classes (last day to register for January Intersession or Spring 2020 without penalty)
December 17-20 Tue-Thur Exam Week
December 19 Thursday Fall semester ends
December 24-25 Tue-Wed Christmas Holiday Break – SEMINARY CLOSED
Dec. 26 – Jan. 1 Thur-Wed Winter Break – SEMINARY CLOSED

Spring 2020

January 6-17 Mon-Fri Intersession Classes
January 11 Saturday Make-up day for Intersession Classes
January 20 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday – SEMINARY CLOSED
January 21 Tuesday Spring semester begins/First day of classes
January 27-28 Mon-Tue D.Min Days
February 10 Monday Last day to drop a class without academic or financial penalty
February 17-18 Mon-Tue D.Min. Days
March 6 Wednesday Ash Wednesday
March 9 Monday Last day to withdraw from a course without academic penalty
March 16 Monday Registration for Summer Session and Fall 2020 begins
March 16-17 Mon-Tue D.Min. Days
April 6-9 Mon-Thur Reading Days (No Classes)
April 8-16 Wed-Thur Passover
April 10 Friday Good Friday – SEMINARY CLOSED
April 11-12 Sat-Sun Easter Saturday and Sunday – SEMINARY CLOSED
April 20-21 Mon-Tue D.Min. Days
May 4-5 Mon-Tue D.Min. Days
May 4 Monday Last day of weekly classes (last day to register for Summer and Fall without penalty)
May 5-7 Tue-Thur Exam Week
May 7 Thursday Spring semester ends
May 15 Friday Graduation

Summer 2020

May 18 Monday Summer session begins
May 24 Sunday Eid al-Fitr
May 25 Monday Memorial Day – SEMINARY CLOSED
May 28-30 Thur-Sat Shavuot
June 26 Friday Summer session ends
July 3 Friday Independence Day Observed – SEMINARY CLOSED

Join our mailing list!

Keep up with all the latest happenings at Hartford Seminary

Sign-up now ›

Hartford Seminary